Louisiana Purchase Historical Overview

Louisiana Purchase Historical Overview In the early 1800's the United States was a young nation on the eastern seaboard of a vast, unexplored continent.

The Louisiana Purchase, approved by treaty in April of 1803, transferred from France to the United States over 800,000 square miles of land. Overnight it doubled the size of the United States.

The land purchased eventually made all or part of fifteen American states: Louisiana, Arkansas, Missouri, Iowa, North Dakota, Texas, South Dakota, New Mexico, Nebraska, Kansas, Wyoming, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Colorado and Montana.

It has brought with it new cultures, new citizens, and vast natural resources. It has shaped America to what it is today.

Browse Historic Overview: Background | Treaty Negotiation | Treaty Signing | Land Transfer | Land Bought |